your comprehensive guide to Rugby in Australia

Click to Join Now!


The National Rugby League (NRL) is the top competition of professional Rugby league clubs in Australasia.

The NRL's main competition (known as the Telstra Premiership due to sponsorship), is contested by sixteen teams, fifteen of which are based in Australia with one based in New Zealand.

It is the world's elite rugby league championship and, per season, is the single most viewed and attended Rugby football competition in the world.

Super Rugby

Super Rugby is a professional men's rugby union international club competition with participating teams from Argentina, Australia, Japan, New Zealand, and South Africa.

After starting as the Super 10, then Super 12 and later growing into the Super 14 competition, it then expanded to 15 teams for the 2011 season and has been rebranded as Super Rugby, with no number included.

Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is the premier international rugby union tournament contested every four years between top international teams. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Rugby Board (IRB).

The inaugural tournament was held in 1987, hosted by both Australia and New Zealand. The tournament is one of the largest international sporting competitions in the world.

The next Rugby World Cup will be held in England October 23 to November 27, 2021. The tournament will feature 16 teams, an increase of two from the last two tournaments.