your comprehensive guide to Rugby in Australia

St. George Illawarra Dragons

The St George Illawarra Dragons is an Australian professional rugby league football club, representing the St. George and Illawarra regions. They compete in the National Rugby League, which they joined in 1999 as a joint venture between the St. George Dragons and the Illawarra Steelers.

They officially formed as the game's first joint venture on 23 September 1998 and remain the only cross-city team in the NRL. The team has its headquarters and leagues clubs in both Wollongong and the Sydney suburb of Kogarah, and train and play games regularly at WIN Stadium in Wollongong as well as at WIN Jubilee Oval in Kogarah.

The Dragons reached the grand final in their first season in 1999, losing to the Melbourne Storm. In 12 seasons, the Dragons have made the finals nine times.

The St. George Illawarra Dragons also field teams in local competitions within the St. George and Illawarra regions. With their round 25 win over the Newcastle Knights, the Dragons secured their second successive minor premiership and become the only team to be awarded the J. J. Giltinan Shield consecutively since the National Rugby League was formed in 1998.

The Dragons are currently the reigning NRL premiers having won the 2010 NRL Grand Final against the Sydney Roosters, defeating them 32-8 at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, Australia.

They are also the current World Club Champions having defeated the Wigan Warriors 21-15 at DW Stadium - UK, in the 2011 World Club Challenge. With its World Club Challenge victory, the club became the first Australian team since the Brisbane Broncos in 1992-3 to win the minor premiership, premiership and World Club Challenge simultaneously.