your comprehensive guide to Rugby in Australia


The Stormers, also referred to as DHL Stormers, are a South African rugby union team competing in the SupeRugby competition.

The Stormers played their first ever final, against the Vodacom Bulls, in 2010 after beating the Waratahs in the semi-final stage but ultimately lost to the Bulls. In the two previous years in which they reached the semi-finals, 1999 and 2004, they were eliminated by the Highlanders and Crusaders. Despite their lack of silverware over the years, their home stadium, Newlands, typically draws the highest average attendance figures of any ground in the Super 14. The team captain for 2011 is flank Schalk Burger.

They are based in Cape Town and centred on the Western Province side, but also draw players from the Boland Cavaliers (covering the Cape Winelands and West Coast districts, with home matches in Wellington). Through 2005, they also drew players from the Eagles (George), which meant that they drew players from all three unions in the Western Cape Province.

However, the general realignment of franchise areas resulting from the expansion of the competition resulted in the Eagles being moved to the area of the Southern Spears, which were originally to enter the Super 14 in 2007 but have since been denied entry into the competition.

Prior to 1998, South Africa did not use a franchise system for the Super 12, instead sending the top four unions from its domestic competition, the Currie Cup, into the Super 12. In 1996, the Stormers qualified and competed in the Super 12 as Western Province.

In 1997, they did not qualify, the 4th South African team being the Orange Free State (now the Free State Cheetahs at Currie Cup level; the region would later be represented in Super 12 by the Cats (now known as the Lions) and in Super 14 by the Central Cheetahs).

They are also the only side to lose a semifinal/final to a team from across the Indian ocean in Super 12/Super 14 history, losing to the Highlanders at home in 1999.